StartUps
Cybersecurity startup competition
1991 Cybersecurity Program

As an edge of global democracy and rule of law, Ukraine is a testing ground for cyber security solutions where both government and young talent are in the same boat. Time has come to utilize the potential of Ukrainian talent and the opportunities of the launchpad that it provides.

1991 Open Data Incubator has partnered with various cybersecurity companies to launch a cybersecurity accelerator program in Kyiv, funded under the token sale of Hacken.

How is it going to be?

The program has high hopes. Here are the main points of how everything will happen, who will lead it and in what conditions will coworking take place.

The six-month, mentor-driven accelerator program is expected to help early-stage cybersecurity startups take a chance on piloting local solutions with the biggest Ukrainian enterprises to be scaled up to the global market.

Program participants will be based 1991 headquarter coworking space and will receive up to $1M in capital as part of a capped Simple Agreement for Future Equity (SAFE) arrangement. SAFE is an agreement between an investor and a company that provides a right for the investor to receive equity in the future, without determining a specific price per share.

Who and why this is conducted

The startups will be mentored by the pros from undisclosed list of Ukrainian and global cybersecurity companies. All selected startups will recieve perks from parters of 1991 in the amount that exceeds $120,000.

The incubator hopes to address the shortage of practice and piloting, as well as sustainability of cyber startups in Ukrainian cybersecurity industry by accelerating the development of unique cybersecurity solutions and intellectual property. It also partners with alongside Kyiv Polytechnic Institute’s new cybersecurity degree program.

Selection and capabilities of start-ups

Startups will be selected strictly according to established criteria, and will receive the following opportunities.

Selection criteria
  • Solve complex industry tasks and cybersecurity challenges of Ukraine
  • Scalable idea with global focus
  • Two cofounders in the team
  • MVP
  • 3 positive recommendations
  • Open track record of sought of money or cashflow
Startups will get
  • 6 months of acceleration program
  • Tier 1 mentors from the government, cyber security industry as well as academia
  • Up to $1M in funding as well as private access to additional capital
  • Premium office space in the heart of Kyiv
  • Unique piloting opportunities at biggest state and commercial institutions
  • Perks that exceed $120,000 per team
  • Alumni package of 1991

The acceleration program consists of lectures, one-to-one mentorship sessions and customer development. In total the program is up to 5 months long.

Steps of selection

Online application.
Statups are preselected from the results of the open call based on the opinion of organizers. The selection criteria is based on the application form and initial idea of the cybersecurity startup. 10-15 startups will be selected.

Pitch session.
Ideas are great with great teams. Pitch session helps to find out who will be awarded the acceleration program. Judges will select up to 5 startups.

Demo Day.
If and only if the team successfully goes through the acceleration, it becomes eligible to pitch at the Demo Day. 3 teams will be awarded with Hacken tocken in the amount of up to $1.5M. Bold names of private investors and VC funds will participate in the Demo Day to leverage the investment alongside or to invest into startups that didn’t get into the awarded number of three.

Judges will represent the team of 6 people with proven and demonstrated leadership in startups, cybersecurity, investment, IT, government and token sale. (1991, HackIT, Microsoft, Dragon Capital, NSDC, Hacken).

StartUps
Конкурс стартапов по кибербезопасности
1991 Программа кибербезопасности

Украина, находящаяся на краю зоны глобальной демократии и верховенства закона, является полигоном для решений в области кибербезопасности, где и правительство, и молодые таланты находятся в одной лодке. Пришло время использовать потенциал украинских талантов и возможности пусковой площадки, которую она предоставляет.

1991 Инкубатор Открытых Данных сотрудничает с рядом украинских и иностранных компаний по кибербезопасности в запуске программы-акселератора кибербезопасности в Киеве, финансируемой в рамках ICO Hacken.

Как все будет проходить

На программу возлагают большие надежды. Вот основные моменты того как все будет происходить, кто возглавит её, и в каких условиях будет проходить коворкинг.

Ожидается, что шестимесячная программа-акселератор, проводимая наставниками, поможет стартапам в сфере кибербезопасности на раннем этапе воспользоваться возможностью обкатывать локальные решения с крупнейшими украинскими предприятиями для дальнейшего распространения на мировой рынок.

Участники программы будут базироваться в штаб-квартире коворкинга 1991 и получат капитал до 1 млн. долларов в рамках Простого соглашения о будущем капитале (SAFE) с верхним пределом. SAFE – это соглашение между инвестором и компанией, которое предоставляет инвесторам право на получение капитала в будущем без определения конкретной цены за акцию.

Кем и зачем это проводится

Наставниками для стартапов будут выступать профессионалы из неоглашаемого списка украинских и глобальных компаний по кибербезопасности. Все выбранные стартапы получат льготы от партнеров 1991 в размере, превышающем 120 000 долларов США.

Инкубатор надеется устранить нехватку практики и обкатки, а также устойчивости кибер-стартапов в украинской индустрии кибербезопасности путем акселерации разработки уникальных решений в области кибербезопасности и интеллектуальной собственности. Он также сотрудничает с новой программой повышения квалификации по кибербезопасности Киевского политехнического института.

Отбор и возможности стартапов

Стартапы будут отбираться строго по установленным критериям, и получат следующие возможности.

Критерии отбора
  • Решать сложные отраслевые задачи и проблемы кибербезопасности Украины
  • Масштабируемая идея с глобальной нацеленностью
  • Два основателя в команде
  • MVP
  • 3 положительные рекомендации
  • Прозрачное использование запрашиваемых денег или денежных потоков
Стартапы получат
  • 6 месяцев программы акселерации
  • Наставников 1-го уровня от правительства, индустрии кибербезопасности, а также научных кругов
  • До 1 млн. долларов США в виде финансирования, а также частный доступ к дополнительному капиталу
  • Превосходные офисные помещения в центре Киева
  • Уникальные возможности обкатки в крупнейших государственных и коммерческих организациях
  • Льготы, превышающие 120 000 долларов США на команду
  • Пакет выпускников 1991

Программа акселерации состоит из лекций, индивидуальных занятий с наставниками и собственной разработки. В общей сложности программа рассчитана на 5 месяцев.

Этапы отбора

Онлайн-заявка.
Статусы предварительно отбираются по результатам открытого конкурса на основании мнения организаторов. Критерии отбора основаны на форме заявки и первоначальной идее стартапа в области кибербезопасности. Будет отобрано 10-15 стартапов.

Собеседование.
Идеи хороши с хорошими командами. Собеседование поможет узнать, кто будет награжден программой акселерации. Судьи отберут до 5 стартапов.

Демонстрационный день.
Если и только если команда успешно пройдёт акселерацию, она получит право участвовать в Демонстрационном дне. 3 команды будут награждены токенами Hacken в размере до 1,5 млн. долларов. Важные частные инвесторы и фонды венчурного капитала будут участвовать в Демонстрационном дне, чтобы использовать инвестиции параллельно или инвестировать в стартапы, которые не попали в число победителей.

Судьи будут представлять собой команду из 6 человек с доказанным и продемонстрированным лидерством в стартапах, кибербезопасности, инвестициях, ИТ, правительстве и ICO. (1991, HackIT, Microsoft, Dragon Capital, NSDC, Hacken).